JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Ive been riding my BMW for the last 15+ years but recently had an opportunity to pick up a '97 FXD with 1900 original miles. I like to do most of my own maintenance but there are a few things this bike needs before I will feel comfortable riding it. I'm not really into going to the dealer for service and it's been a long time since I've had a V-Twin. Any suggestions for a good wrench in Clark co? Thanks

19670FB9-FB08-4C35-A37E-86560888E260.jpeg tempImagepo4X6x.png

It's not that there is anything "wrong" with it, only that it has been sitting in a garage collecting dust in Modesto since 1998. It actually looks brand new. But there is (was) the issue of 24 year old gasoline, oil, brake fluid, tires..............I'm working my way through the issues but it has been a few years since I wrenched on my own motorcycle so I thought having a good Harley guy if I ran into problems might be nice. I've bought a lift stand and a lift so far and really I'm down to just pulling the wheels to get the tires changed. I would still like to find a good Harley wrench though.........

Sounds like you just need a basic service to get it back on the road. Only possible issue sounds like the old fuel. But if it's running well it wouldn't be of too much concern. Is this an Efi model or carb? I know it was optional in those years.

Only other things you should probably consider is a new belt, checking tension on the spokes, and changing out the fork fluid. May also need motor mounts depending on how it was stored if the rubber dry rotted at all. I'm in Washougal as well may be willing to help out for a fee. I'm not a certified tech but I do all the maintenance like this pretty frequently. There's a few other common things it may need but it would need to be gone over first.