JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hello all!

A friend has piqued my interest shooting some cans this summer, so I thought I should finally get a gun to avoid dirtying his equipment and using up expensive ammo haha. Looking to get a decent handgun (potentially rifle but I'm concerned about storage/size) that probably uses .22LRs since they're cheaper to fire and seem to be better for shooting at a longer distance (compared to 9mm at least).

I'm doing a bunch of research currently found this forum, which I'm hoping to use to learn about current waiting lists, availability at retailers, other firearm-purchasing rules, and potentially buying a second-hand gun since availability seems to be a problem for certain makes/models. Also just looking to see if I can learn any tips from y'all's experiences.

I'm really quite new to guns in general (hence the virgin) and have never gone shooting before. Looking forward to learn, and thanks in advance for your posts here!

hi from somewhat recent noob. In early 2020, i had shot gun once and that was like 2005. I've found it very enlightening learning experience and imho something that could be very necessary. A mentally unstable person threatened me last week on MAX. Two years ago, I'd be just scared. But now I can defend myself.

Maybe try and figure out what your possible use cases are? Just fun? Home defense ? Conceal carry? The use cases will help narrow down on where to start.

Be realistic about how much you want to spend on new hobby. It's not just cost of firearm(s) and ammo. Think about classes and range fees. If you intend to conceal carry, you'll likely end up buying a number of holsters before figuring out which works well. Dont forget conceal carry insurance.

My picks for a 22lr pistol would be taken from: