JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have many years experience with reloading but always jacketed bullets. I am interested in getting into cast bullets with gas checks for some vintage rifles. Does anyone have any time to meet up for a beer on the west side of Portland/Beaverton and chat for a while?

Like to get a picture before I proceed.

I am going to be loading for a .311 barrel. I have not slugged it but believe that this is probably correct. I want to use gas checks. Think I need a lube-a-matic press. What dies do I need? What lube to use?

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/17...let-sizer-and-lubricator?cm_vc=ProductFinding

FWIW.........I use to cast my own bullets for pistols NOT rifles.

I stopped and sold off all of my equipment. Because, I found that I was spending way too much time vs. just making OT and spending the money to just buy bullets. And, I'm not saying that I'm Donald Trump rich.

OK.......so figure this.......

Spending your time to digup the back stop. Assume that they'll let you for free? Sifting the dirt and carrying home the bucket of used bullets.

Then, you get home and get to work melting. You could make bullets directly or make ingots and make bullets later. Melting pot, elec or gas? How big? Where are you gonna do this without smoking out the neighborhood? It's toxic afterall.

OK, you've bought some expensive molds and handles from Lyman, the 2 cavity kind. Maybe, I should have gotten the 6 cavity molds? Think production. Oh well........

So, you've made some bullets. Not to mention the mistakes. So, how many were actually produced for that afternoon? Oh well, they are pretty and all for free.