JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hello all,

I finally upgrade my lower from a plain Ruger lower to a VQ Target frame with their mainspring. It will be matched up to my OPA (Oregon Precision Arms) Upper and it looks pretty sexy if you ask me!

oyktLkE.jpg

Now, I'm no newbie to the MkII/MkIII/22/45 game so I'm well versed in the typical issues and have no problem stripping them down typically and putting them back together. That being said, I'm no gunsmith either, so it was also super disappointing to receive my lower yesterday and find I cannot get the mainspring to close at the last bit.

Yes, like the typical "hammer strut isn't seated in the mainspring cap" issue. (I've read the guntalk-online.com pages many times of the years.) So, I tried installing the mainspring without an upper on at all, and it seems like you have to really push the hammer super extra far forward, but it will close at that point.

I also tried installing the mainspring without the bolt installed. At least that way I could get access from the back to try to push the hammer farther forward. I did that, but it feels like the hammer is pushed up against the ejector and upper and will not go any farther forward. Looking at the ejector, it does seem like it sticks out quite a bit aft, but I'm not sure. I'm tempted to file a little bit of the rear of it to give a bit more space for the hammer to go forward more, but that's my best estimated guess.

nKWkycV.jpg

grAIt3h.jpg

Any other thoughts or help? I have emailed Volquartsen so hope to hear from them if they have any inside knowledge or if I'm doing something boneheaded or wrong.

Well, anyone throw some thoughts out there? It's almost a perfect .22... at least to me. :D

Maybe @Velzey or someone else would be willing to look at it? (I'd pay of course)

Thanks!