JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
So you can fix stupid with hardware, got it.

Everyone from time to time pulls a bonehead move. As an example, I have been reloading since 1994. I always pay close attention in a distraction free environment. Except two or three years ago I made a squib load. I use a single stage press so it wasn't a mechanical issue with a progressive -- it was 100% me. No matter how much attention and focus a person applies, it is inevitable that a mistake will happen. One squib in 25 years is obviously rare, but you wouldn't believe how embarrassed I was -- felt like a total knob. Not putting powder in the case was stupid, not seeing when I checked the cases for powder was stupid. Throwing some hardware at the problem (better lighting) was smart.

We usually don't notice our mistakes because most of the time there are no consequences, even with firearm handling. Applying layers of processes and/or hardware can minimize the number of mistakes and minimize the number of times mistakes have consequences. So while you can't fix stupid, you can plan for it and take measures to limit its effects.

Last Edited:
Never been a Sig fan, but In my experience firearms don't "accidentally" discharge

I would agree, to a point; guns don't just go bang without PERFECT conditions. Firearms are manufactured using various technologies and contain multiple components, all of which are prone to fatigue and potential manufacturer defects. That said, it is possible, although improbable, that when a firearm has a round in the chamber with the hammer/striker cocked that a component can fail due to fatigue or defect and cause an AD. This is rare with most modern firearms and the exception rather than the rule. I've not personally experienced an AD, but have witnessed a ND once or twice.