JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So I'm kind of new to the whole AR style guns. I found a DPMS that I really want, but it has no dust cover, forward assist or shell deflector. I can tell that this isn't a common set up. I'm assuming this is a disadvantage?? Should I pass this gun up and look for one that has these parts instead??

The quest for knowledge is never stupid...
The forward assist is just what it sounds like. If you have a dirty rifle and a round wont fully chamber, just push it in. It makes things a little easier.
If you're getting a smoking deal on it, you could always buy an upper receiver with all the cool gadgets. Just a thought...

When they build them like that it's not that it's better or worse it's more on the side of personal preference. Ive had builds where the customer wanted nothing
to with the Forward assist or a dust cover (Bench shooter).
so I would just suggest get configuration that most appeals to your needs.

I would be using this gun for plinking and maybe for a little hunting down the road. I'm not much of a target/bench shooter. I just want to make sure I get a gun that is worth it and I will be happy with. I'm not getting a great deal on it, but I'm getting some extras thrown in, couple extra mags, quad rail hand guard, sights. Without the dust cover, is the rifle going to need to be cleaned more often or get gummed up more?

Without the dust cover, is the rifle going to need to be cleaned more often or get gummed up more?

short answer- yes.