JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I don't own a boat, nor do I know anybody who owns one around here so I fish from the bank. I am relatively new to salmon and steelhead in general. anybody have any suggestions on where I should go? I tried the Cowlitz river out of gearhart gardens park. was out there for 3 hours without a single bite. I tried a 1 1/2 oz round ball weight with a t swivel and a crankbait. swapped the crank bait for an artic fox spinner, and then a rooster tail. switched to a bobber and drifted various jigs and a rat tail. Whole bunch o nadda. Any suggestions? Like I said I'm pretty new at this so my knowledge is limited.

I don't own a boat, nor do I know anybody who owns one around here so I fish from the bank. I am relatively new to salmon and steelhead in general. anybody have any suggestions on where I should go? I tried the Cowlitz river out of gearhart gardens park. was out there for 3 hours without a single bite. I tried a 1 1/2 oz round ball weight with a t swivel and a crankbait. swapped the crank bait for an artic fox spinner, and then a rooster tail. switched to a bobber and drifted various jigs and a rat tail. Whole bunch o nadda. Any suggestions? Like I said I'm pretty new at this so my knowledge is limited.

When it comes to salmon and steelhead fishing, I really believe that the learning curve is greatly shortened by going on a couple guided trips. Learn about how to read water. Feel free to ask the guide what it is about the water you are fishing that attracts fish. Eliminating water really helps save time and effort.