JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hello friends,

Thank you all so much for your help and input and friendships as I'm venturing in to distance shooting. I finally got my rifle today - Christensen arms mpr 300 win mag. I tried to install my scope today myself (probably bad idea). It is a leupold 5-25-56 mark 5. I'm running mark 4 rings in size 35. I think I got it pretty level however I'm question how I mounted it and it's positioning and distance from the barrel. I can get the sun shade on but the lens cover will not fit. Any advice welcome. Be kind - this is my first try. Should I just take it to sportsman's and have them do it?

88B1888E-7C9A-4142-AB72-DD9C04651181.jpeg

no, dont take it to Sportsmans.
Generally its better to have the scope closest to the barrel but if you want to use that front lens cover then all you need to do is buy the next size taller rings.

You may not have enough clearance. You could possibly get one of the lens caps that thread on the inside of the shade. You could also get higher rings. Or if the flip cover is plastic you could cut/dremel a notch to go around the barrel without touching it. Great looking set up by the way! I love my mark 5 5-25.

Are the rings in the right place or should I have moved them in. Does it matter?
They are fine if that gives you good/natural eye relief. I normally don't place my rings all the way to the end of the rail. But there is nothing wrong with doing so. It just doesn't give you as much adjustment back and forth with the scope (adjusting for eye relief before torquing the rings setting the scope in place. Just make sure the beginning angle of the objective isn't pinched in that front ring, ensuring you have complete contact with the tube of the scope. It's hard to tell from your photo.