JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm buying three vintage Colt revolvers from a women who inherited them from her father.
The FFL at the pawn shop said that he would have to send a special form to the ATF informing them of the multiple gun transaction,
Has anyone had any interaction good or bad from the ATF after having this form sent in?

I am by no means an expert, but from what I understand you can buy multiple firearms with one BGC.

They dont do anything. You will not be contacted by them. Theres probably 10 ATF agents max in the NW. They are busy hanging out at donut shops or pretending to do their job like any other government worker. Going after people who arent breaking the law isnt a priority. With the multiple pistol report your name just goes into a file somewhere and if they do a trace or multiple traces later on they can bring it up and decide if they want to investigate more.

Yeah, i understand you can have 10 guns on a BGC and there is no issue, it sounds to me like they just told you extra info that you wouldn't normally be told.

I just bought two - one a private sale and another from the LGS (pawn shop) that did the private sale BGC. No problemo. No mention of extra paper work. It is between the FFL and the ATF - not something that the buyer needs to deal with.

I've had this mentioned before on a multiple gun purchase. Didn't affect me in any way, as noted above, it's just some extra paperwork on the FFL's end of things. I've never heard anything from the ATF after making multiple gun purchases.

We would just ask the guy who bought 4-5 guns a week to get them all on the same day.
Now if you buy a few at different ffls,they don't do this form cause they have no way of knowing what you bought at other stores.
But isn't it 5 guns that makes the form needed ?