JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have a family member who has a medical card (doesn't like opiods) she is on the registry but wants a cwp. I told her to not answer 'yes' on the portion of her form that asks if she is addicted to marijuana, which she is not. Can the state (Washington) deny her cwp for having the medical authorization? I have called the local sheriff's office and the attorney general's office and neither can answer the question. Because she is a registered medical marijuana patient, will that affect her? Any info is appreciated. Thanks Blindpig

First off, I am not a lawyer, and none of the following should be construed as legal advise.

If you take a look at the application form (link here, PDF warning) for a Washington CPL you'll find that one of the questions is:

"Are you an unlawful user of, or addicted to, marijuana, or any depressant, stimulant, or narcotic drug, or any other controlled substance?"

(note that this question asks about unlawful use and not only about addiction as you seemed to indicate in your post)

While marijuana is legal to possess and use in Washington, it is still considered an illegal narcotic under federal law. For this reason, if you were to mark "yes" on this question while filling out a standard form 4473 a store owner would be unable to sell you a firearm even if you live in a state that has legalized the use of marijuana.

With the above in mind, and since your family member uses marijuana the answer to the aforementioned question is "yes" since marijuana use is still federally illegal, and federal laws supersede state laws when they conflict (according to the Supremacy Clause of the Constitution).

Disclaimer: I am not an attorney.