JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
How difficult would it be to learn to weld. I'm not talking complex underwater welding or anything on a commercial level. I'm talking about simple stuff. Like fabricating roof racks, brackets, target stands and stuff like that. Not too worried about how pretty it looks. Just functional.

Do I NEED to take a college course? Or is it something that someone can show me over a weekend?

Additionally.. from nothing to basic set up.. how much money are we talking for total investment to buy the tools and equipment (not counting materials) to weld together rebar and angle iron?

This is a skill I am lacking in and rather than just "wish I could do that" I'm interested in learning it.

It's not something you can learn over night. I have been doing it for 20+ years. I would take a class or two and learn the basics on how to run a wire feed. Then what ever you decide to buy I would buy it used. Don't forget to buy a nice grinder.
Good luck.

Just basic wire welding isn't too difficult. Where are you located---maybe someone here is close and would
be willing to let you give it a try.

The Navy trained me to weld even after 3 years of HS metal shop. I'm still constantly learning new things and getting better. A community course would be a good thing, a instructor that believes in hands on is a plus.