JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hi guys,
I am new to AR's and I am thinking about putting together a parts bin incase I need to do some basic repairs. I would like to be prepared and have parts on hand instead of having to hunt something down and then wait for it when I need something? I am considering buying a extra lower parts kit, is there any other parts I should accumilate in case of a breakage of some kind? Would it be a good idea to have a whole new extra BCG? And what tools should I pick up. I was thinking about buying a Leatherman MUT to go with my AR, anyone use one in the field? I have been looking for a set of punches and the only decent set I have found is at Sportsmans Warehous for $40. Are there any other good sets out there in that price range? Any help would be greatly appricated thanks.

LPK
Pin kit
Spring kit
Extractor kit
Complete bolt
Even with all that I would keep a couple spare safety detents and springs.
While I do keep spare firing pins and retainers on hand the only retainer I have ever replaced was on a used gun and not sure what they guy before me did to it.

As for tools there is really nothing that you will be fixing in the field that you need a hand tool for. While the MUT is cool and I just want one I cant think of anything it would help me with in the field on an AR. If you really want to get serious an armorers wrench and vice blocks are great to have. I picked up a set of heavy duty punches at my local auto parts store.

I would just go with the complete bolt, and a LPK. replace parts as used. A small ball peen hammer or mallet, a few delrin or brass punches for tools, a G.I. combo tool, only because of its compact size.

My spare parts has turned in to spare rifles.

It's nice to have springs and detents, maybe an extractor. A spare bolt becomes a rifle real quick around here.