JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
okay, I'm pretty new to the northwest. I live in longview and am looking for a place to shoot out doors. hate ranges because I like to shoot melons and other random junk (no I never litter) also I own an AR with a Beta-C mag and "rapid fire" is never allowed at ranges.

so what are the rules for shooting outdoors here. I want to have some fun but I don't want to go to jail for it. also if you know any places near longview where I won't disturb hunters would be good

Well, you might hate ranges, but I still suggest looking into Clatskanie Rifle and Pistol Club. Its $80 per year. On weekdays, the range is only open to members which usually means no one is there until early afternoon at the earliest. On weekends it is open to the public as well, so it tends to be a bit more crowded. The main range has a covered shooting area, a stove, a 15, 25, 50, 100 and 200 yard target board, a nice dedicated bathroom that is always available and a new clubhouse for meetings and such.

I was personally OKed by the rangemaster to shoot melons, but only AFTER I convinced him that I'd pick up all the little pieces after I was done. As long as you pick up after yourself, you should be OK too. I have done rapid fire there too, but only when no-one else was present. I presume its verboten otherwise. (There is no soda can, paint can or other types of random junk shooting allowed ever, though.)

Anyways, that's my input.

Keith

Welcome! First post, I see.
There used to be a lot of places around to shoot, but now most of the timber properties are gated off, due to litter and vandalism.
The only open, public places that I can think of, off the top of my head, are a bit of a drive.
The Clatsop State Forest, on HWY 30 between Wauna and Astoria, is open year 'round.