JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I picked up a 12ga pardner single shot H&R. It worked great at first, but now I seem to get light primer strikes every third shell or so. Makes me think there's something worn out, but I have no experience with these. Anyone else had similar issues?

I know I'm reviving an older thread- What ammo did you have this problem with? two weeks ago I picked up some Estate target and game from Bob's in Longview for my NEF 12 gauge and had a similar problem. Every third or so shell wouldn't detonate. The primer appeared to have an equally deep punch as shells that did fire. I called Remington and they told me that specific ammo has a deeper, recessed primer and that it wasn't the first time they'd heard that ammo giving a NEF shotgun problems.

I haven't found this problem to occur with any other ammo. I've shot Estate Super sport, Remington game loads, kent steel, federal target loads and no light strikes.

Put in either a new hammer spring or a heavy duty hammer spring.... $6.00 from gunsprings.com

Sometimes springs only last a couple years!

And yes, I have seen it allot in the H&R's!

Don't overlook the firing pin spring. If it's weak or gummed up, it won't return the firing pin so the hammer can get a full "whack" on it. Be sure and clean the firing pin channel as well. Any goop or gunk that's accumulated there will slow the pin and can be a cause of light strikes.

Don't overlook the role of the "small stuff" when you have a malfunction.

I took it apart and it was pretty clean. The firing pin had a very slight chamfer on the round tip, not sure if that's causing any of the issues. I think I'll pick up a new hammer spring and firing pin and spring if I can find them. Anyone know where I can buy the firing pin and spring?