JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I bought an AR15 lower/upper receiver set from CMTTAC and had it shipped to a local Oregon gun dealer that charges $20 per transfer. I went to pick it up and he said he can't transfer it to me because I'm a WA resident. He can sell it to my wife though who is an OR resident.

I recently bought a rifle from an Oregon dealer and one from an Oregon Bimart with no issues. Did the laws change? Is the dealer wrong?

A receiver is not a rifle or a pistol. In state purchase only and 21 years of age. Been this way for years now. Rifles accross the river are ok...

Last Edited:
A bare AR15 receiver is considered as "receiver only" (maybe that is the incorrect term according to BATF but, stick with me) because it still hasn't been built into either a: long gun or handgun.

So, since it could potentially become a handgun. The "handgun laws" must be followed.

If it were already built as a rifle. Then, the laws for "long guns" would apply.

Aloha, Mark

........So, since it could potentially become a handgun. The "handgun laws" must be followed......Aloha, Mark

In regards to state lines and and age to buy, yes. Although, you do "not" fill out handgun related paperwork for a stripped lower receiver in WA state.

Can one of you ffl guys send me a link to show my dealer? This guy is kind of a friend/aquantance so I can't press the issue to far.

One dealer that's been is business for over 40 years agrees that this guy is dead wrong.

A feller may not agree with this ruling, but the FFL is required to abide by this.

1) An FFL may not sell a frame or receiver to anyone under 21 years of age [Title 18, U.S.C., section 922 (b)(1)]. Comment: This is because the receiver could, potentially, be made into a pistol.