JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I was able to pick up a decent Winchester 70 in .270 wsm without a scope. I'll admit I know little to nothing about what constitutes a good quality scope other than a name recognition, so....

I could use some suggestions. I've heard some scopes are better for certain calibers (although I have no experience to draw from) but I'd like a good starter scope. I figure I'd like to start target shooting with it up to say 500 yards (not immediately!) And let's say my budget on this would be < $300.00 and preferably a little over $200.

So drop your suggestions and comments and give me ideas.

Thanks to all in advance!!

Not necessarily the end all be all, but in 55 years of scopes, I have never once been dissatisfied with Leupold's. All told, 8 now.
Others I've had were Weaver, Burris, Vortex, Nikon, Westernfield, Bushnell, and Simmons, all those came on rifles I acquired. Some were Ok some not but all went to Leupold if I kept the rifle.
Not to disparage you, so maybe a used scope may be possible, but Most scopes I've seen today in the low price (but not bottom) range function pretty dang well in daylight, 300 yards and less.
For hunting; Low light, heavy clouds, rain, sun up and sun down is where the party separates from one another, also, the crispness or lack of at the edges of vision manifest themselves when trying to find the game you just saw, both things usually given little attention to when target shooting.