JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Absolute noob here, please be gentle.

I'm trying to make the move from "messing around at the range" to "training in a direction" and as much as I hate competitions I know that competing is the only way to really improve.

So I'm looking for practical shooting competitions in the Willamette Valley (I live in Salem).

I honestly don't really know how IPSC, IDPA, and others differ.

I figure this is a good thing - I'm open to everything. I'll try a few and see what suits me best.

Can someone point me to a place that aggregates matches in the area?

Thanks!
(anyone got some used holster/belts/pouches they want to sell?)

IMHO the best intro competition is speed steel as there is no movement and you can usually shoot anything from 22lr through any handgun caliber gun including rifles.

While you normally will draw a center fire gun from a holster most matches are informal and will allow a beginner to start with the gun unholstered much like they would do for a 22. You can then get some experience and meet others, see their equipment, etc. before jumping too far into the deep end of the pool.

Unfortunately I'm not familiar with your location with regard to competitions.

But no matter what, get out there and have some fun!

I shoot the monthly match at Chehalem Sportsman's in Dundee. Here is the website for the competition:

Team Croc | USPSA | Dundee Oregon

This is a USPSA match. The website for that body is here: Welcome to USPSA.org - Home of the United States Practical Shooting Association

The other monthly USPSA matches in Oregon are Douglas Ridge and Albany. The best approach is to come observe a match and then sign up for a safety orientation. In Dundee, you can do that here: USPSA | Columbia Cascade Section | Safety Training

Good luck! Watch out, it's very addicting.