JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have ditched the idea of buying a 22-250, I have decided to use a Gun I have already, I want to reload some rounds that will be very accurate and fast for coyote hunting, I have chose a Savage 110 .270, I have done a Little research and found that loaded properly the Sierra Varminter 90 gr Bullets will get me in the 3000 fps, With that, I am a Rookie at reloading, My wifes grandpa has a Die, Brass, and Primers, Would like some input, What do you guys think a Good Coyote round would be and Grain, As Always thats for the Good Knowlege, Cory

Howdy Cory,
Good for you! Unless you are a pelt hunter, your Savage .270 will work just peachy on songdogs. In fact, you will almost eliminate the very frequent occurrence of a coyote taking a good hit with a .22 centerfire, and disappearing over the nearest hill in high gear. 59 grains of IMR4350 behind a Sierra 90g hollowpoint should put you very near 3400fps! (Much better than you anticipated, and a load that is below maximum) It will also arrive with very nearly twice the energy of a .22-250 load. Spank those dogs and tell 'em to lay down and stay! Good Dog!

I gather you are not collecting the hides. I use to call them for hides. I had a nice .270 that I though, "what the heck" so I loaded up some 90 gr hp and well, they are too explosives. Prairie dogs, well let's say, vaporizing is part of the fun. I guess it depends on what you are killing them for.

.22LR or 20 gauge is good medicine.