JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
ok guys, here I go.. I'm new to lead cast bullets.. after reading too many blogs, and watching too many you-tube vids, I've decided to try my hand at "copper plating" my lead cast bullets :s0155: what I'm trying to achieve is a .30 cal bullet that I can push to a med. to upper end fps for 170gr. bullet for 300win mag, 30-06, 30-30, 308.. I have tin, pure lead, lino-type, wheel weights, and lead ingots that vary BIN of 18-28, total of 175lbs.I like to keep me BIN in the neighborhood of 20+/- . my intent is a bullet for big game. I also cast 9mm,10/40,357/38, 45lc,45acp, 44mag. So... if some of you "casters" can give me some advice, I would be grateful. Some times I just over think things. oh ya, youtube "copper plating bullets "I'm using ZEP rootkill and vinegar. 2amp battery charger. Thanks to all in advance!

Here's the thing, I set up systems for doing this for large commercial customers and plating copper onto lead requires a lot more effort than some people make it out to.

First, you're going to need to have all your molds made smaller, if you're looking to push rifle velocities you're probably going to want at least .010" to .020" smaller, that way you are creating an adequate thickness.

Next, you need to dope the surface of the bullet with a compound that will allow copper to stick, this can be done with silver acetate or copper cyanide (would not recommend cyanide for the home user).

Then you need a drum plater, this drum is full of holes that allow the plating solution to flow into, on and around, and also provides continuity for the plating circuit.