JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey all!

I'm a total noob but have always been interested in Japanese Swords. I admire the rich history and craftsmanship that goes into them. They are deathly beautiful, destructive and double as hypnotic works of art.....any way..

Here's my story and I'll post up some pics. I was at an estate sale locally and wandered into a room that was somewhat closed off....as I peeked in, I saw tons of war relics, gun safes and some other misc interesting stuff laying around. Not more than 30 seconds after peeking my head in, the owner approached and let me know nothing in there is available. Boo. What I did see gave the a great opportunity to talk to the owner and his time in service because I could relate being a 6 year vet. I saw a 1st infantry plaque as well as a very familiar unit patch on the wall....1st Bn 75th Ranger Regiment..... "Rangers Lead the Way" I said as I walked up to him "All the Way!" Instant brothers.

So he showed me around his stuff, we talked etc....it was great. Learning his history hands on. Brought back so weird feelings....just before we were about to leave he turned to me and said "I've seen you eyein that sword for the past half hour.....go grab it" so I did. The he got serious and said "I've let go of most this stuff, I can sleep better now. Take that sword,don't open it now, its something special...thank you for your service"..... And he walk away.

OK here are some pics. I don't know all the proper names so I'm gonna be all white boy american ignorant about it, lol. I've disassembled the Katana completely. I WILL NOT attempt to disassemble or unwrap the wood handle. The peg was carefully removed out and all of the components removed.