JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I don't own a business and haven't used my 03FFL other than to buy a couple old milsurps.

But a friend is interested in buying an out-of-state 90+ year old handgun, and then have it shipped to me.

I would record the transaction but no money would change hands.

Is this legal?

This would not be an antique, as there is a very specific federal definition of such. So there are two issues in question - straw purchase and shipping firearms across state lines. This wouldn't be a straw purchase because it is okay to give firearm as a gift to a non-prohibited person. Also as an FFL you can accept a qualifying (C&R) firearm from another state. I personally don't see a problem, as long as the firearm is properly shipped (UPS/FedEx with carrier notified about handgun). But I am not a lawyer, and this is not a legal advice :D

Under the United States Gun Control Act of 1968, any cartridge firearm made in or before 1898 ("pre-1899") is classified as an "antique", and is generally outside of Federal jurisdiction[3], as administered and enforced by the U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (BATFE).

If I understand what you want to do it is NOT legal.

ANYONE can buy/ship an antique firearm without an FFL as they are not considered "firearms" by the ATF, Antique Firearms Defined - U.S. Government Info/Resources Your described gun is not a antique.

The info that came with your C&R is very specific about what you are allowed to do with it. The short version is it allows you to have C&R guns shipped directly to you for YOUR personal collection. Receiving guns for others is specifically lists as not allowed.