JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So - I'm very new to the gun collecting scene. I already have a shotgun for home protection and am interested in picking up one of the AR-Style .22's this weekend at the gun show at the Expo Center in Portland. I've been doing a lot of reading online and have narrowed it down to one of the following: S&W M&P 15-22, Colt M4 .22, Sig 522, or Ruger SR-22. There's also a VERY inexpensive one by Mossberg, their Tactical 22. The first 4 are all between $400-500, the Moss is only $225. I of course completely understand I'm basically overpaying for a simple 22 to have the AR looks and feel (somewhat) but can't rationalize paying for .223 rounds for something I just want to take to indoor/outdoor ranges and cheaply shoot for fun in my spare time. Again - I won't be using this for home protection and at a later point plan on getting an AR-15 that will rarely be shot (thanks to ammo cost). Do any of you have any of the above guns? What are your thoughts on your purchase and what do you reccommend of the group? Seems like these are getting more and more popular - and since everyone should own at least one .22 this seems like a fun choice.

Have you thought about getting an AR-15 and a .22 conversion kit? I went this route with a CMMG bargin bin AR with their conversion kit, last I looked it was ~$600 for the AR and ~$100 for the .22 kit. It's been good so far for a weekend plinker.

The mossberg is horribly ugly and looks like it came from Britain, don't buy it.

The ruger sr-22 is horribly ugly and looks like it came from Britain, don't buy it.

The colt is actually made by umarex and feels like cheap airsoft, don't buy it.

The S&W M&P15-22 is pretty cool

I have not used the sig 522 yet.