JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey NWFA. So I just finished up a couple of my 80% lowers and it's now time to start the build. This is my first time owning a AR sport rifle and my problem is I can't seem to find a buttstock that's long enough for my long arms. Every AR I pick up to shoot I feel I need a few more inches in length on the extendable buttstock. Online no one states the dimensions of the buttstock .What's my options ? Commerical or Mil spec ? Thanks guys.

Well there goes the budget on these builds. Lol. I still want the adjustable style , but unique info on the A5 system with the benefits of a few extra (longer) notches on adjustability.Thanks titsonritz . Some awesome knowledge here !!!

Have you considered a fixed rifle stock instead of a carbine collapsible stock?

Personally if I was going to have a "spacer" between the receiver and receiver extension I'd make it a Law Tactical Folding Stock Adapter.

Something else you might want to consider is a A5 system coupled with a <broken link removed> like the ACS, ACS-L or something adjustable like the UBR or PRS all of which extend to just over a 15 1/2" LOP even without the A5, you could also add a <broken link removed> if you still want an even longer LOP. So unless you're an orangutan you shouldn't have a problem finding a stock long enough for yourself.

I built my first AR (and am in the process of building my second) with the Magpul CTR lower parts kit from Palmetto State Armory:

http://palmettostatearmory.com/catalog/product/view/id/1718/

I'm 6' 5" tall with very long arms and it fits me just fine. Granted, the stock is at max extended length, but it fits me great! You can get a thicker butt pad for the CTR stock as well for some added length of pull if needed.