JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I sold a gun to a friend today and want to replace it. I have an itch for a S&W 686 3' OR a Kimber K6. I haven't laid my hands on either and am not familiar with current Smith quality, although I have owned older ones. Help me, please.

I think the Kimber is smaller, being about K-frame in size.. it'd probably be nicer to CC than the L-frame.
The L-frames are sweet shooting guns though.

I have a 686+ combat magnum or distinguished combat magnum - I don't know some fancy name. ;) Anyway think it has the 3" barrel, and it's one of the most accurate guns I own. Now that I load .38/357 I shoot it all the time.

I was also able to swap a Dawson Precision Tritium sight on the front, nice upgrade.

I have a 686+ combat magnum or distinguished combat magnum - I don't know some fancy name. ;) Anyway think it has the 3" barrel, and it's one of the most accurate guns I own. Now that I load .38/357 I shoot it all the time.

I was also able to swap a Dawson Precision Tritium sight on the front, nice upgrade.
Distinguished combat magnum, combat magnum is the 19/66

I believe the Kimber has a model with low pro night sights and black finish from the factory. If CC that's an attractive option. I don't think there's a snowballs chance in Jamaica I could conceal my 686+ without a much, much smaller grip but then, what's the point? Lots and lots of support for any Smith you can dream up so that's always nice to have in your corner.

Buy the Kimber so when you get tired of it I can pick it up in the classifieds.........

Edit: try Coastal Farm they may have both.

Last Edited:
I've had quite a few S&W and do not like the new safety lock thing. Love my old S&W but not the current ones so much. I'd go Kimber especially for EDC.