JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
The No Fly List maintained by the United States federal government's Terrorist Screening Center (TSC) is one of several lists included in algorithmic rulesets used by government agencies and airlines to decide who to allow to board airline flights. The TSC's No Fly List is a list of people who are prohibited from boarding commercial aircraft for travel within, into, or out of the United States. This list has also been used to divert aircraft away from U.S. airspace that do not have start- or end-point destinations within the United States. The number of people on the list rises and falls according to threat and intelligence reporting. There were 16,000 names on the list in 2011, 21,000 in 2012, and 47,000 in 2013.
The list—along with the Secondary Security Screening Selection, which tags would-be passengers for extra inspection—was created after the September 11 attacks of 2001. The No Fly List, the Selectee List, and the Terrorist Watch List were created by George W. Bush's administration and have continued through the administrations of Barack Obama, Donald Trump and Joe Biden. Former U.S. Senate Intelligence Committee chair Dianne Feinstein said in May 2010: "The no-fly list itself is one of our best lines of defense." However, the list has been criticized on civil liberties and due process grounds, due in part to its potential for ethnic, religious, economic, political, or racial profiling and discrimination. It has raised concerns about privacy and government secrecy and has been criticized as prone to false positives.
The No Fly List is different from the Terrorist Watch List, a much longer list of people said to be suspected of some involvement with terrorism. As of June 2016, the Terrorist Watch List is estimated to contain over 2,484,442 records, consisting of 1,877,133 individual identities.

View More On
  1. RicInOR

    Proposal - No Fly List = No Buy Guns

    2/27/18 Senators Propose Bill Blocking Those on No-Fly List From Buying Guns Yep we have discussed this before. Senator Collins - Who is on that list? How did they get there? What happened to due process? How do you get off the list? see also NWFA Threads: No fly list and gun...
  2. PiratePast40

    Connecticut to use no fly list to ban gun sales

    Looks like Connecticut is going to be the first to try to bypass the constitution: If you do a google search, you'll see that many other outlets are picking up on the story.
  3. 4Freedom

    Donald Trump Now Supports No Fly List Gun Ban

    I beg the moderators not to remove this post, as this post is 100% associated with our gun rights and liberties and this is SERIOUSLY needs to be addressed. Yes, I know many support Trump, which is even more a reason why I would like to present a very serious issue about him that I think is...
Back Top