JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I can't go into too much detail on a public forum, but basically - I work in education in the IT Engineering field. A few months back we were given a project and my co-worker and I have talked to MANY vendors, demoed tons of tech, and have been nailing down a rocksolid design.

Then we start working on the specs for a RFP (due to the size) ... no issue there... well, my boss basically said that he is going to try to work a deal with a certain vendor and break things apart in such a way that we don't have to go out for RFP.

The real killer part is that he is retiring at the end of the budget year (June 30th) --- so my co-worker and I will be stuck with an inferior, sub-par system because my boss likes that one company.

If the job market was better I would just quit if we actually order this certain brand.

It costs more, is harder to manage, doesn't perform as well, is extremely monolithic and doesn't scale worth a darn, does not have the high availability that I would like.... but it is made by ___ so it must be good.... OH JOY! Your tax dollars at work!

Given that he is retiring, could you go around or over your current boss and if so what would be the ramifications? BTW, this doesn't just happen in govt, it happens in businesses as well.

Given that he is retiring, could you go around or over your current boss and if so what would be the ramifications? BTW, this doesn't just happen in govt, it happens in businesses as well.

I know this happens everywhere - but it is worse when you are dealing with taxpayer dollars. If a private company wants to use its own money to buy something sub-par, fine. But when you are using MY money and the money of others in the state to buy it... I think we need to be responsible/accountable and make sure we are spending the money the best way possible.