JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey, so I guess I've got a couple of questions regarding sidearm carry.

I've been reading up on regulations to make sure I do my best to stay within the law.

Anyways...Starting (hopefully) this winter, I'm going to get into hunting coyote. I have very little hunting experience and want to eventually hunt big game. I figure this will be a learning experience (mostly in patience :s0114:).

What I'm wondering is, do you guys carry open or concealed while hunting? Which leads onto my next question.
Where do you carry it?
If I carry on my belt, it's going to be OWB probably with a thumb break so I don't lose my gun without realizing it. But I was thinking more along the lines of a shoulder harness or thigh rig (if you know where I can get a thigh rig for a subcompact/Springfield XDs...let me know) ***yes, I know that's pretty low round count for woods carry, but it's all I have right now and something's better than nothing.***I do plan on buying something full size eventually, but that's not going to be anytime in the real near future.

Any opinions are greatly appreciated.

I have heard thigh rigs get tiring after a while, that being said, my hunting sidearm this season is going to by my glock 20 in a cheap thigh holster so I guess I will find out. my other option is a 1911 in a OWB holster but I don't know if i want to drag a Milt sparks through the brush

I've been looking for a decent (under $45 or 50) thigh holster that still has some sort of anti-slip on the straps. But I don't know if I'm searching wrong or not, because I can't find anything other than really bulky adjustable's for smaller handguns.

I carry my M&P in a Blackhawk pancake thumb break, concealed or not depends on if I un-tuck my shirt. The PNW woods are filled with bad things.