JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Have a chance to pick up a blued/walnut Ruger 77/22 for a fair price. Have been wanting 1 for a while. When handling it and checking out function in the store I was amazed at how 10/22ish it felt except the bolt action. I know opinions are like behinds, everyone has one. Are they worth the extra money?

The 77/22 is a tack driver right out of the box. Worth the money? Well that depends. 10/22 need a few things imo for it to work to my preference. My 77/22 has a scope and thats it.

I have a lot of experience with many 77/22's and 10/22's.

There's no doubt, the 77/22 is a much nicer rifle, but in every case, no 77/22 was as accurate as any of my 10/22's.

There's maybe a 3rd choice... I have also much experience with the American Rimfire rifles. They are more accurate than either the 10/22 or 77/22.

I wanted a 77/22 for so long but always heard the Ruger American Rimfire was a more accurate gun for less money. I ended up buying a RAR a few years back, had it threaded, and put some Tech Sights on it along with the rubber Ultimate Gun Sling. Thing is super accurate and super fun. Throw a can on it and it's about as quiet shooting as you could imagine. Takes 10/22 mags/drums and thanks to the stainless/synthetic combo, is about as weather proof as a gun could be. I'll setup some clay pigeons on a hillside and sit back shooting the progressively smaller pieces while I listen to the birds chirp around me. It's fun times. I even have a 10/22 mag modded to load and shoot 22 shorts just for kicks. One of my favorite rifles and 22lr bolt and lever action guns are about my favorite guns.

1698268532377.png

Never regretted getting the RAR over the 77/22, and I'd take either over my 10/22. Just no thrill to me without participating in the loading of the next round. Good luck with your choice!