JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
This thread is about the use of a magazine with your 308 caliber hunting and defensive long distance weapon (rifle). I am thinking of 3 weapons here. The first one is a Remington 700 SPS Tactical, the second option a Ruger Scout also in 308, and the third, not a bolt action, but a semi auto USA version of the famous FL FN style weapon, a DS ARMS production STG 58 in 308 as well. The objective is to use any of these guns with a 10 round (or in the case of the STG a 20 round) magazine.

Which weapon is best suited for my desired situation. I am not a hunter by trade nor by hobby. I have never shot a deer. I could and I almost did, but then felt bad for the creature and shot in the air so nobody else could get him... judge me now...I know. I am more into defensive tactical shooting. So I bought my first bolt action ever. I have other weapons too. So, now I own a Remington 700 SPS Tactical (20" BBL) in .308 (the AAC-SD model). This barrel is already threaded for a suppressor or alike kind of fun devices. This gun is meant to be a defensive weapon for distances between 200 to 800 yards.

I am considering a few options. I want to build up the Remi to accept 10 round magazines. The problem is consideration of funds to be spent. And these are the questions I have to you, hoping that, you with your mostly much greater experience with this kind of a rifle, than myself, can help me decide which way to go. Few facts or options: