JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm an over 60 hunter and outdoorsman. Have been hunting since 1967. Have been hunting big game with my Remington 700 BDL in 30-06 since 1976, have many other guns but this one is my favorite. I am new to muzzle loading and just bought a CVA Optima NW in 50 caliber. Gun shot a ragged one hole group at 25 yard out of the box, but shot 12 inches low at 100 yards with highest factory open sight. At 100 yards I shot a 2 1/2" group but was 12 inches low. Used 100 gr of Pyrodex RS and Hornady 385 gr high plains lead conical. I spent a few days working out the correct shim height of 0.170 inches for the rear sight using a piece of 1 inch schedule 40 PVC conduit and one piece of credit card (see photo). I bought the Williams #70154 peep sight for CVA Optima and had the same sight height problem. Has anyone else had this problem with CVA Optima sights?

CVA shimmed sight.jpg