JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey folks, new guy from WA here. I'm not new to forums, pretty active on a couple local forums (motorcycles and jeeps) and stumbled across this site when googling the rules on purchasing a pistol online.

I'm relatively new to firearms .. I've done what I feel is a fair share of research on which guns I'd like to carry/own, along with basic concepts of how to handle/fire a pistol, carry laws, etc etc. It's been a few years since I've shot a gun (2008) so I'm a smidge rusty on it and am in need of some practice. I'm a sponge when it comes to information, I want to make sure that I do everything right the first time instead of just jumping the gun (no pun intended) and buying a pistol THEN doing all my research. I'm more of a "monkey see monkey do" type learner for those that care to know.

I'm applying for my CPL this week (if I can find the time) and waiting for that before I make my purchase. I'm an impatient bastard when it comes to paying for something then having to wait a few days before I can take it home. Plus, it gives me a few weeks to hit the range and really test out the pistols that I want (and maybe look into other options) before I drop some coin on a gun.

Based off of feel (which is bogus to base off of because each gun shoots differently), I've come to the conclusion that the Ruger LC9(-CT) and Springfield XD9 SC are my two favorite options. I have yet to shoot either or, and am still open to options, but they're within the price range that I want to spend (XD is a stretch for me), both feel great in my hands and will get the job that I want them to do done.

This is why I am buying a gun:
  • Why not?
  • Home Defense (caught a couple guys staring at my motorcycles up close in my shared garage and ran when I came around the corner)