JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
So for those of you like to hunt with a muzzleloader or want to hunt with a muzzleloader here is a summary of the regulations for Washington.

Please note that I am not a lawyer , refer to the 2018 Washington State Big Game Pamphlet for the actual wording and rules....

You can use either Black Powder or a black powder substitute....

A muzzleloader is considered loaded if you have powder , patch , ball in the bore and if you are capped or primed...

.40 caliber and above is legal for deer....all other big game must use .45 or larger...
Buckshot may be used for deer ... if it is #1 or larger and the smoothbore is .60 caliber ( 20 gauge ) or larger...

If you are hunting small game with a side x side you may keep both barrels loaded...if you are hunting big game than you can only have one barrel loaded...

You may carry a handgun for self-defense while muzzleloading hunting...but you can not use it to dispatch game...

A muzzleloading handgun can be used for big game...if .45 caliber of larger...with a rifled bore and a barrel of at least 8 inches...and be capable of taking at least a 45 grain charge...
A percussion revolver can be used for grouse , cottontail rabbits and snowshoe hares...

Modern cartridge primers can be used...
Sights can be : open , peep , fiber optic....No scopes...

Sabots are allowed to be used as of course round ball and lead concials

Have a great hunt this year...have fun and be safe...
Andy

My big three muzzleloading hunting guns and charges are :
.54 Hawken Rifle copy.
With a charge of 80 grains of 2F , .15 patch and a .530 round ball.
.38 Royland Southgate percussion longrifle.
With a charge of 40 grains of 2F , .10 patch and a .375 round ball.
20 gauge flintlock Fowler.
With a charge of 60 grains of 2F , .15 patch and a .600 round ball or