JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I may be in the market for an inexpensive .22mag rifle and wondered if anyone here has any experience with these rifles, like accuracy, reliability etc.

1) Marlin XT-MTR .22 mag
22" barrel
1:16 rate of twist
ProFire adjustable trigger
tube-fed(holds 12+1)
weighs 6 lbs.

2) Savage 93F
.22 mag
21" barrel
could not find R.O.T.
Accu Trigger
5+1 detachable magazine
weighs 5.5 lbs

I have zero experience with these rifles and am hoping for some help. I do like the 12 round capacity of the Marlin, and all things being equal, the capacity would be the clincher. So, help me out, please!

Last Edited:
I own the Savage and would not trade it for the Marlin. I like the Accu-Trigger and spare mags can be found at Bi-Mart, Walmart or any gun store or show. The capacity is a big one and I am a Marlin fan, but my 93F is the best $189.95 rifle I could hope to own. I think either way you have a winner, but if I could only have one it's the Savage. Kip.

I have a marlin xt-22 and its a awesome rifle. I picked it up because it was cheap and looked nice but was very surprised with how light the trigger pull is after I adjusted it. great little gun, my only gripe is that the iron sights on it were kinda cheesy but I planned on putting a scope on it either way.

I have a Savage 93FV and my Bro-in-law shot it and LOVED it... he went out looking and found a Marlin XT. He liked the micro-groove barrel and thought if the trigger was adjustable it wouldn't be to bad. I wouldn't give up my Savage, but that microgroove barrel plus adjustable trigger may get me to buy one in 22lr just for anyhow.