Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Marlin XT-22MTR vs. Savage 93F???

Discussion in 'Rifle Discussion' started by mountainman53, Feb 12, 2012.

1. mountainman53

mountainman53 Ridgefield Wa Member

I may be in the market for an inexpensive .22mag rifle and wondered if anyone here has any experience with these rifles, like accuracy, reliability etc.

1) Marlin XT-MTR .22 mag
    22" barrel
    1:16 rate of twist
    ProFire adjustable trigger
    tube-fed(holds 12+1)
    weighs 6 lbs.

2) Savage 93F
    .22 mag
    21" barrel
    could not find R.O.T.
    Accu Trigger
    5+1 detachable magazine
    weighs 5.5 lbs

I have zero experience with these rifles and am hoping for some help. I do like the 12 round capacity of the Marlin, and all things being equal, the capacity would be the clincher. So, help me out, please!

Last edited: Feb 12, 2012
  2. unklekippy

unklekippy In The Mountains Near Sprague River Well-Known Member

I own the Savage and would not trade it for the Marlin. I like the Accu-Trigger and spare mags can be found at Bi-Mart, Walmart or any gun store or show. The capacity is a big one and I am a Marlin fan, but my 93F is the best $189.95 rifle I could hope to own. I think either way you have a winner, but if I could only have one it's the Savage. Kip.

3. rynpol

rynpol Oregon Member

I agree with unklekippy. I have several of the Savages and would not part with any of them. Huge fan of the Accu-Trigger.

4. auditrevor

auditrevor salem Active Member

I have a marlin xt-22 and its a awesome rifle. I picked it up because it was cheap and looked nice but was very surprised with how light the trigger pull is after I adjusted it. great little gun, my only gripe is that the iron sights on it were kinda cheesy but I planned on putting a scope on it either way.

5. OwenT21

OwenT21 Bend area Member