JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Status
This ad is no longer active. View more ads here.
Reactions
Greetings,

I am in search of an affordable handgun for home protection. I must first preface that I am a graduate student on a somewhat tight budget. In addition, it must be something that my wife can easily shoot that has some sort of stopping power. Over the course of my extensive investigation, I found three possibilities for what I'm in search of: .38 special, Makarov, or a CZ 83. From what I understand, the ammunition for these firearms is relatively cheap (and thus, what I'm also looking for). Does anyone have any of these firearms or any other suggestions?

I reside in the Portland metro area.

Thanks and best wishes,

Jefe

It looks as though my limit is around $300. Depending on the condition of the firearm, and the asking price being reflective of the price of the gun, found elsewhere, I could go higher. My extreme cap is $400, but I'm hoping for around $300. I'm not looking for anything fancy, just something affordable, of military-issue quality, that takes cheap ammo.

These types of questions always make me ask, are you going to be willing and afford to shoot it at a range at least once a month so you get used to how it works and feels to shoot? Will your wife do the same? Will you carefully learn how to clean an maintain this tool?

Otherwise you have a very powerful tool which you won't know how to use very well in a critical situation. If your answer is NO, then why not go spend $30 on a nice aluminium baseball bat. Heck, get 3 of them. One for the bedroom, one for the coat rack by the front door and one, say in the kitchen for mice.