JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have been a reader for a long time but this is my first time posting.

Here is my problem. I have been a gun owner for many years and recently tired to get my CPL here in Washington at about the same time I purchased my first new firearm. At the 5 day mark my background has not come back so the gun shop released the weapon to me. When I get home I find a Denial letter from the sheriff's office saying I have a felony conviction on my record. I was like WTF? I don't have a felony?! after I calmed down I jumped online and pulled my background from Watch. Apparently my taking a vehicle without permission when I was 16 IS a felony even though we were told at the time it was not..

Now I have worked several sensitive jobs that require background checks and seen the results of those checks. I have never seen this on one. I know I can seal my juvenile record, but that does not reinstate my gun rights I have to file a motion to have my gun rights restored.

My question is has anyone here had there rights restored? If so when? I can't afford a lawyer right now. Just trying to see if doing this myself is feasible. I have successful represented myself in family law matters many time and have custody of 2 of my kids because of it.

The other part is.. this happened on Saturday and now have to figure out what to do with my guns Including the one I just got.

Lawyer up. No one here (unless someone is a lawyer) is qualified to give you legal advice. I would, however, have a trusted friend or relative babysit your guns for you until things are cleaned up.