JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Absolute finest buck ever made...I have three. What do you mean by stag scales installed?

I believe that the OP means stag slabs put on and the original handle taken off.

Some knife makers call them scales (Especially wood ones from what I have seen and read.) and some stag and other slabs of an animal or 'whatever else' are used for handles too. I am NO expert. My husband knows several knife makers here in MT. He knows a lot about SOME, not all, knives too. I helped pick out some wood for a few of his custom made SMALLER fixed blade knives. Three types of wood - several years ago.

I have gone to a couple of knife shows and I looked at quite a few knives. I handled a LOT of knives in person at various STORES to SEE and FEEL how they fit MY hands too.

I helped my husband with some of his knives over the years. I LOOKED up some old ones up for him. He knew the history of most of them plus we wanted more info for gifts.

Plus my late husband was into some very SPECIFIC knives too. BOTH men were into knives and carried knives - pocket knives ON their body from a VERY young age as did my late Father, other OLDER - long gone men and my older brother who is still alive.

So the BUCK 124 FRONTIERSMAN KNIFE would have new handles put on and the original or older handles would be taken off.

Cate - An Old Lady who still loves her knives!

PS: I do not own a BUCK 124 but I do own SEVERAL Buck - IDAHO MADE, Ka-Bar - NEW YORK MADE, etc. good quality - fixed blade knives. I always did ADMIRE the #124 Frontiersman and the #120 General fixed blade knives too!

Last Edited:
Cate....thank you for that. I also collect very specific knives and am getting to be an old fart 😂