JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I got a question for all the ar experts, 15 years ago I got a colt hbar lower and have a hbar barrel, it is the kind with the front sight on it with a sling swivel and bayonet lug and tri side stop thing for the old style forgrips. What I'm curious about is am I ruining the barrel by taking the front sight off, and using a low profile gas block to mount a freefloat rail? Or should I just build this to oem/gi standards? I don't want to ruin something cool because I'm a noob and just getting into ar's now.
Thanks in advance for any advice you all have to give.

Hard to tell what you have.
Maybe parts for an HBAR Sporter ?
If they are genuine Colt parts, I'd keep them intact and build what it was meant to be.

Good AR parts are cheap right now.
Buy some Aero Precision receivers and build what you want.
Curt's in Milwaukie can help you with assembly if you don't want to fully tool up.

IF it's a Colt Hbar 1/7 twist (or even the 1/9). You don't have a rare or collectible barrel or model of rifle for that matter. But you do have something cool you have something that truly appears to be an AR15 rifle made by the only company to commercially manufacture true "AR-15" rifles. The rifle and the barrel has a better saleability now before you do a hack job on it. In other words, right now you barrel is worth about $175 - $250 if you remove the FSB and put a low profile block on it, your barrel will be worth about $100-125.

A lot of companies can put out cheap barrels because they are stripped. The labor and parts cost money you are stripping it down to a barrel that is worth less and very common to the current market of cheap barrels.

By removing the front sight base you are removing the labor and parts produced by colt. and putting your name on it.