JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
OK, it's finally gotten so bad that I've decided to go for cataract surgery. I can't shoot a decent group even with a good scope, much less iron sights. They can't correct my vision to any better than about 20/50 on my right side, which is my dominant shooting eye.

So the thing is there are several choices as to what kind of lenses they install. I can get near sighted lenses and use glasses for far vision (not very appealing), or I can get far sighted lenses and use reading glasses for close work (probably my choice), or I can get radial bifocal lenses that take some getting used to, and that some people find that they hate (after it's too late, of course).

Now, for everyday stuff, yeah, there's no question. Get the far sighted lenses and use reading glasses like I've been doing for 20 years. But for various sighting systems and the firearms they are used on I'm not so sure. If I get the far sighted lenses what happens to iron sights with both rifle and pistol?

Which lenses will work best with a scope? Scopes can be adjusted to accommodate the user's vision, but which vision, far or near are we adjusting it for when we adjust the ocular lens at the eyepiece?

I want to make the right choice here, because it's kinda permanent. I was once a pretty good competition shooter, winning many matches. Not being able to effectively use a decent scope has really been an irritation for me, but with iron sights out of the question there aren't many alternatives. Anybody out there have experience with this? Thoughts? Observations? I mean, I'm going to bring this up with the surgeons, but I'm not sure they are going to know what I'm talking about.