JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hi, can anyone recommend a good scope for the Marlin 1895 45-70 SBL? Any real-use cases that led to best practices? This is my first time stepping away from the AR platform and my first scope purchase. I've only purchased red dots before and my head starts to swim with all the info.. From what I've read, scout scopes seem to be the most popular given the relatively shorter range. Also, should I have it installed professionally? Or would my novice gun skills/tools and YouTube suffice? And last, how much is too much on scope rings? They seem to range in prices as wide as the scopes... Looking to spend under 1k and buy once if possible.. Appreciate any info!

Scout scope.

I use a Burris 2-7X pistol scope because it is variable power and has adequate eye relief to be mounted as a scout scope.

If you can't take to the idea of a forward mounted scope, I would suggest a LPVO something ~1x-6X.

I would recommend a Leupold with the old German #4, fixed 4x scope. Set it for x inches over at 100 and be happy. The heavy duplex will guide you on low-light conditions, where light isn't great. I have an old M8 on my 9.3x62 and love it. You don't have to worry about changing magnification under the stress of hunt. We have switched over to hunting with fixed scopes from variables. And love it.

I had very briefly put a pistol scope on my Henry in 38-55, with a 3" Vortex solid mount on bases. There was too much eye relief- my cheek weld was crappy, even though it was set way out there.