JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
I've been looking around for a Smith & Wesson, Model 29 the last few weeks. I happened upon a very nice Astra Model 44 for sale. I've seen them from time to time and I believe they are kind of a clone of the 29. Though I have had no experience with this model, the Astras I've owned and/or shot have been nicely made. (My father was an Astra fan back in the day.)

Anyway, my "gut" is still saying go with, and spend a little more for, a Model 29. And I'm also not sure on the parts situation for the alternative, but it is unlikely to be as readily available as the Smith.

Thoughts on this one? Thanks!

Were it my money, I'd find an early Model 29. I believe that shooting anything shorter than a 4" barrel in the .44 Magnum cartridge is just a bit more abusive than I'd care to try shooting. While I can't speak for the revolver in question, the older Astra revolvers came from Spain and some were quite good.

If I were purchasing a .44 Magnum, I'd opt for either a Ruger or Pre 1980 S&W with a minimum of a 6 1/2" barrel.

That's just me.

The Astra's I have been around seemed to have questionable steel treatment. I have seen Parts break from being too hard (crystallized) and have seen pistols shoot loose very prematurely. I would be afraid of long term active use particularly with an intense 44 mag loading. They do look nice. I bet Parts could be a challenge.

Gotta say, I think the Smith would be the better choice here! Having had the Rugers in both Red and Black, and well as the Bizley, I much prefer the Smiths or the Dan Wesson!
Just for fun, ( seriously) I now run a pair of Ruger Old Army pistols, 8" barrels, and they are every bit as good as the other options, and the advantages of running Hole Black are not to be discounted! Plus, they just look mean as hell!:D