JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
I started a thread some time back when I started asking questions about the variants of .308 AR's. This is my first attempt at putting together a "big brother" AR and I can say I have learned quite a bit.

Over all I am pretty happy with this. I spent a little more money than I planed on but I think it was well spent. My biggest gripe with it so far is just its weight. She is a tank. With a empty magazine and the bi-pod she clocks in at 12.5 lbs With a optic and loaded mag its gonna be 16 pounds! And this is a relatively light 16" barrel. Cant imagine what it it would weigh with a 22" bull barrel!

I am hoping this weekend I'll get a chance to see if it goes bang.

It is mostly Aero

Areo 16" 1/10 Stainless bead blasted barrel
Fortis Stainless gas bock.
Spikes nitrided gas tube
AAC comp/flash hider
Aero enhanced upper and keymod rail
Aero M5 lower
GGG folding sights
Magpul UBR stock
CMC 3.5lb flat trigger
B.A.D.-A.S.S. Ambi saftey
AXTS/Raptor ambi charging handle
Aero/Fail Zero BGC

Currently has a Atlas bipod

areo2.jpg areo4.jpg areo7.jpg areo8.jpg

So know I want to build another one. I suppose that is the way it always works. You learn something and then you want to do the next thing. I think I might try and build a much lighter version of this same rifle. Find a pencil barrel and put on a Magpul ACS-L See if I can get down in the 7-8 pound range.

Anyway She is not a Si-Defense or one of the Rainer branded Mega rifles but as she sits with the used UBR stock I am into it about $1350 without sights or a magazine. Right at about half what one of those "fancy" rifles would cost. If it will put 5 rounds in a 2" circle at 100 yards I am gonna call it a win.

Last Edited: