Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Aero Precision M5 .308 Build

Discussion in 'Rifle Discussion' started by IronMonster, Feb 18, 2015.

1. IronMonster

IronMonster Washington Opinionated Member Diamond Supporter

I started a thread some time back when I started asking questions about the variants of .308 AR's. This is my first attempt at putting together a "big brother" AR and I can say I have learned quite a bit.

Over all I am pretty happy with this. I spent a little more money than I planed on but I think it was well spent. My biggest gripe with it so far is just its weight. She is a tank. With a empty magazine and the bi-pod she clocks in at 12.5 lbs With a optic and loaded mag its gonna be 16 pounds! And this is a relatively light 16" barrel. Cant imagine what it it would weigh with a 22" bull barrel!

I am hoping this weekend I'll get a chance to see if it goes bang.

It is mostly Aero

Areo 16" 1/10 Stainless bead blasted barrel
    Fortis Stainless gas bock.
    Spikes nitrided gas tube
    AAC comp/flash hider
    Aero enhanced upper and keymod rail
    Aero M5 lower
    GGG folding sights
    Magpul UBR stock
    CMC 3.5lb flat trigger
    B.A.D.-A.S.S. Ambi saftey
    AXTS/Raptor ambi charging handle
    Aero/Fail Zero BGC

Currently has a Atlas bipod

areo2.jpg areo4.jpg areo7.jpg areo8.jpg

So know I want to build another one. I suppose that is the way it always works. You learn something and then you want to do the next thing. I think I might try and build a much lighter version of this same rifle. Find a pencil barrel and put on a Magpul ACS-L See if I can get down in the 7-8 pound range.