JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Question for the master reloaders here since I'm a beginner at this.

Loaded 30-06 Springfield with Speer 170 Grain DeepCurl bullets, these bullets have a cannelure and when I measured the Overall length of the cartridge I got 2.931 inches, and the SAAMI specs have a Minimum overall length of 2.940 inches.

The question is: Should I just forget about this bullets for the 30-06 or would they be fine to shoot even when the overall length is just a little short ?

I know this bullets are designed more for the 30-30, but I got them on a 'sale' and calculated loading it with 45 grains of IMR 4895 would give me a tame load of about 2500 - 2600 feet/second initial muzzle velocity.
I want to use this bullets for target practice only! No hunting with them.

Because this bullet is for a 30-30 the cannelure may be a bit farther up the bullet than if it was a bullet for a 30-06. If that's the case, the bullet will intrude farther into the case, eating up a little capacity. That's also the reason your OAL doesn't measure up.
Keep the powder charges on the low end of what you would for a "normal" 30-06 bullet and it should be fine.

If the OAL is all that "short", don't expect great accuracy. The bullet will have a greater distance to travel before it gets to the lands which will affect both how straight the bullet enters the bore as well as "barrel timing".