JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey - just joined recently. Already bought a rifle from someone on here. Great experience!

I'm a hunter and fisherman and lived in this state for about 47 of my 50 years. I know my way around guns just enough. Have had my CPL since I was 21.

I joined because my 3 oldest boys (I have 8 kids total - 5 adopted from foster care) and I are just starting to get into AR type rifles as a hobby. I'm kicking things off by getting the first gun to start learning the platform. Got an Aero M5 308 (so I can also hunt with it) and plan to pick up a few more in the next few weeks.

When I say we are just starting - we are complete noobs when it comes to ARs. So we are watching videos and doing some learning. But there is a lot of jargon we are still struggling with. But each day it gets a little easier. (just learned today what FDE and BCG mean...)

Anyway, here are some questions perhaps someone can help with:

1) Where can we find the best deals on ammo these days? 308 mainly. 223 will come later.
2) What ammo should I get or avoid? Can my M5 shot any old 308? Is there a less expensive plinking ammo I can use vs my hunting ammo?
3) I'm considering a suppressor. Is it still like a year long process? Cost? No idea where to start...

Thanks for any help!

Oh, and guns i'm looking for:

youth friendly 20 gauge and 410 for grouse and rabbit hunting with the kids
243 youth friendly size and weight for whitetail hunting with the kids
308 or 270 light weight hunting rifle - along the lines of a browning xbolt or Remington 700 (on the heavy end for me) for mountain mule deer
308 AR type rifles (POF 308 sub 8lbs might fit the bill for this and the above hunting rifle...)
308 scout type rifles
223 AR type rifles
Sig or cz handguns in mid-compact size for EDC

Welcome Aboard. Glad you found the forum.