JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Remington 700 .223 won't discharge. By appearances it cocks. At trigger pull, sounds like firing pin movement. Firing pin barely mark's primer. Took bolt apart and cleaned. Rifle has Jewel trigger. Placed bolt in second rifle and tested. Discharged. Placed second bolt in malfunctioning action. Same no contact with primer. Test method is to use primed brass. Do I have a bolt problem? Does trigger activate cocking of bolt? Is trigger not making contact on bolt closing? Can anyone offer resolution?

Sounds like a trigger issue. Does the other rifle you tested it with have the same Jewel trigger? I'm not an expert by any means on the Remington 700 trigger. I just watched a Youtube Video by the channel "Best Sniper Simulator" called "How Bolt Action Rifle Works (Remington 700 Mechanism)". It shows a cut away of the rifle firing. I hope that helps a little.

A guess:

A 700 bolt is either cocked or not.
Which is the same as either released or not.

I think...on release, the firing pin is thrown forward, extending beyond the bolt face, striking the primer hard, then coming to rest just inside the bolt face.

My question: has the faulty rifle been rebarreled?

On the face of the matter, it makes me want to ask about headspace.

Sounds like ether a trigger issue or the bolt needs it's sear checked/repaired! Remove the bolt and flip it up side down, and have a look at the sear on the firing pin extension, it should be absolutely flat, perpendicular, and have a sharp edge, not rounded or blunted, and it should be almost shiny smooth! If it's out of spec, it may only "Slide" over the trigger when released instead of that very pronounced snap of the firing pin being driven forward!