JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Anyone here have a recommendation on a good, inexpensive used car? Something under about $4k. Preferably well under.

My daughter is looking for one. The poor mileage of the one she has now makes commuting to school (community college) expensive.

Used car prices sure have gone up in the last couple years. We bought a nice little '09 Toyota for my wife, for $4k three years ago. We've really come to like Toyotas over the years.

She thinks she wants a hybrid for the mileage, but a 10+ year old small, high mileage Toyota/Honda/Hyundai, etc. is more realistic, something that gets 30+ mpg.

She just wants something reliable to get her from point A to point B. My kids don't know about shiny new cars. We haven't had car payments in 20 years. I've been driving the same truck for 21 years, and we finally let go of the '99 Saturn that my wife bought new. Not that there's anything wrong with new cars, but you have to make some sacrifices to raise a family on a single blue-collar income. We just drive and maintain our old vehicles carefully and they last a long time.

We are a Honda family for the most part. Even though I work high tech, I was raised as a military brat and we never had a new off the lot car... just new to us.

I agree, I would rather not have payments so I always put aside some money for upkeep and when needed replacement.

We have a Honda CR-Z that gets 30ish MPG but the 4 cylinder CR-V gets close to that as well.

Toyota Corolla? Seem pretty dependable ( my wife has been a Toyota girl since 1977) never had one go bad or major or minor failure of drive train ….only bought newer ones just for the more modern features ::edit cars she has had and sold with no issues:
1977 Toyota corona 4 cylinder
1990 Toyota corolla 4 cylinder
1994 Toyota RAV4 4 cylinder
2013 Toyota RAV4 4 cylinder