Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Question about CHL renewal (out of state)

Discussion in 'Legal & Political Archive' started by IronMonster, May 7, 2015.

1. IronMonster

IronMonster Washington Opinionated Member Diamond Supporter

I am a Washington resident, just got my Oregon CHL in the mail today. Reading through the little flyer they sent with it under Renewal Information it states:

Please take note of your expiration date. Approximately one month before your CHL expires you should receive a reminder in the mail. You must make an appointment to renew your license. Renewals are made in person. The only exception to this procedure allowed is if you are currently a member of the Armed Forces on active duty out of the area. You can submit your application with roof of your military orders and a copy of your military ID.

So as a out of state CHL holder do I have to renew in person? (clearly that's what it states, but really?)

I mean I guess it wouldn't be that big of deal to drive the 6 hours round trip for me, but what about someone from Florida? Do they expect them to fly out to renew?

2. ron

ron Vancouver, Washington Silver Supporter Silver Supporter

I have always renewed my OR permit in person. I am also a WA resident.
    When I called Multnomah county there renewal was only certain days
    of the week. They do not make it easy for out of state renewal. Good luck.

3. solv3nt

solv3nt Portland Well-Known Member

I believe that you are supposed to use a border county, since you're northern Washington, I would go to Columbia county over MulTCo.

4. Fin and Feather Guns

Fin and Feather Guns Ridgefield Member

Just renew from the CHL at the dept you got it at. Some counties are only renewing license that THEY issued, and others are only issuing if you live in a contiguous county. Yes, you have to apply in person, it will only take about 15 minutes,.

5. etrain16