JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hello,

Bought 2 mosin nagants from Bud's Gun shop.

I've been researching this for a few months prior to buying them, but I'm wondering what NW Firearms has to say about getting rid of cosmoline, specifically from the wood.

The metal's easy enough, but the wood has as many solutions to cleaning out cosmo as Russia had Mosins.

So far the best looks to be a hair dryer. Any thoughts? I may also need to refinish the stock, does anyone know how to get rid of the original finish?

Cheers,
Drame22

Yeah, that was my first stop. I was more asking which method is the best in terms of time taken and cost.

For instance, it's free to set it in the sun, but A) I live nowhere near sunny regions, and B) it takes months for the cosmo to fully bead out.

Google is great, but not for narrowing choices down.

Cosmoline will disolve with acetone but not very well. When I refinish an old military oil finished stock, I use oven cleaner to leach out the oil. I spray the oven on and let it foam up. leave it on for about 15 min. Then I rinse it in hot tap water. The bathtub is a good place as long as your better half doesn't know. You might have to do it a couple times.
Then I rub it down with mineral spirits. Watch the inletting, that's where the most oil will soak in. It's worth a try.

Short of an oven big enough to bleed the cosmoline out of the stock, or enough patience in a naturally hot environment, then a heat gun or hair dryer will be your best friend. It's going to be messy. Have lots of rags in a well ventilated area, and probably a pan under the stock to collect the drippings unless you want to clean up your floor...

Go slow to avoid scorching the stock.

^^^^^