JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am new to using lpvos so I am curious about mounting. I see a lot of mounts but no one using rings. Is there an advantage? I was thinking of getting rings so I can place them where I want and not be stuck by the set distance of a mount. This made me think of an lpvo's center of gravity. The weight seems to be behind the turrets, so maybe 2 rings behind the turrets would be better. I've never seen anything like that, so there has to be a reason. Can anyone teach me why this would be a bad idea?

I assume we are talking about mounting on a pic rail on a flatop AR? The cantilever mounts have several advantages. They are very robust and provide a solid mount for an optic. Having Two separate extra high rings does not scream robust. Also, they generally are machined very straight and won't pretzel your scope even without lapping. The separate rings should be checked for alignment and lapped if necessary, which is likely. The cantilever design will allow proper forward mounting of the scope all on the upper receiver pic rail. This is not necessarily the case with separate scope rings.

I am new to using lpvos so I am curious about mounting. I see a lot of mounts but no one using rings. Is there an advantage? I was thinking of getting rings so I can place them where I want and not be stuck by the set distance of a mount. This made me think of an lpvo's center of gravity. The weight seems to be behind the turrets, so maybe 2 rings behind the turrets would be better. I've never seen anything like that, so there has to be a reason. Can anyone teach me why this would be a bad idea?
Probably the #1 reason, in regards to AR mounting is that the cantilever mounts you see everywhere, keep the mount confined to the receiver.