JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Thought I'd help a friend out and clean/lube his Marlin Model 60 for him. All went well until I attempted to re-install the action into the receiver. No matter how I do it, regardless of the position of the bolt, when I install the action I am getting severe binding between the bolt, action and receiver. It is extremely hard to move the bolt at all once the rear pin is installed to secure the action to the receiver. This is my first time assembling/disassembling the rifle and everything worked normally before I took it apart for cleaning. I thought it wouldn't be too difficult of a job but Murphy's Law proved otherwise:(
Here's what I did:
Disassembly
1. Remove Trigger guard screws and trigger/guard
2. Remove Stock screws and separate stock from receiver/barrel
3. Remove rear pin from action and remove action from receiver and set aside for cleaning/lube (Did not disassemble any further)
4. Remove Bolt, Charging handle, Spring, etc from receiver clean and lube.
5. Clean and Lube Barrel and bare receiver
Assembly
1. Install Bolt with spring/pin into receiver
2. Install Charging handle onto bolt
3. Attempt to install Action onto receiver and unable to do successfullywithout having a severe binding issue between the receiver/bolt/action. I've tried installing with the bolt fully closed, locked open and everywhere in between.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Kenny

If you know someone with experience in this sort of thing, maybe ask them. Hands on works better for me than texting. I live South of Dallas, and if you can not find a person, I would be glad to help you. So far I have succeeded in reassembling many firearms.