JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hello, I'm newer to guns but plan on getting well acquainted with the ones recently pasted down to me. I have two kids B7 G4 and plan on getting them into hunting. I am a machinist by trade and a drummer in my free time.
Most notable of the guns that were past down to me is a Springfield Armory 30-40 Krag model 1898. This has not been chopped down and is in great condition, it is not the carbine version to the best of my knowledge. Still have a little research to do to find out exactly what it is I have as far as it's origin and it's production use, military or hunting. I plan on using it as a hunting rifle. I was also pasted down a few 22's, 1 single shot for the kids and a long only 22. The old man also gave me a 410, a single shot 12ga. and a pistol grip pump action 12 ga.
In passing I mentioned to him that i was going to be buying a rifle for the kids and a hand gun for myself and get them into shooting then to hunting. He reminded me of the guns he has and told me he'd give me what he had, less his pump action 22 and his 1902 lever action 30-30.
I decided to sign up here to try and become a part of the community. Mainly for education and secondly for events that some of you/organizations may hold. I am looking forward to chatting and learning from the wealth of knowledge that I will find here from you all.
Cheers-

I know a bit about the Krags. If you have a Krag rifle in original condition, the barrel should measure 30" from receiver to muzzle. If it is shorter, it's been cut down. I don't know if you'd want to hunt with a full-size Krag rifle. It's pretty heavy in original trim. But if you do have an original-condition rifle, it can be quite the collector's item. They're getting scarce, since so many have been cut down over the years. You can learn more about what you have here: